Mr. & Mrs. Darcy Mysteries

Back to Mr. & Mrs. Darcy Mysteries main page

Suspense and SensibilitySuspense and Sensibility
(Or, First Impressions Revisited)

A Mr. & Mrs. Darcy Mystery

Book #2 in the Mr. & Mrs. Darcy Mystery series

Forge Books, 2005
Hardcover ISBN-13: 978-0-7653-0509-1
Trade paperback ISBN-13: 978-0-7653-1844-2
Mass market paperback ISBN-13: 978-0-7653-5092-3
Also available in e-reader formats
Read an Excerpt
Reading Group Discussion Guide

• Finalist for the 2006 Daphne du Maurier Award for romantic suspense •
• A Reviewers Choice Award nominee for Best Historical Mystery of 2005 •

Available from your favorite local bookstore, or order now through:

AmazonIndieBoundBarnes & NobleBooks-A-MillionMacmillan



"First impressions are not always accurate reflections of one's character, are they?"
"No. Thank heaven."
—Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy,
Suspense and Sensibility, Chapter 2

Persuaded by Mrs. Bennet to sponsor a London social season for Elizabeth's sister Kitty, the Darcys reluctantly return to the glittering ballrooms and parlors of the fashionable world. There Kitty meets Harry Dashwood, the handsome young owner of Norland, and they quickly fall in love. But for the Bennet sisters, it seems the course of true love simply cannot run smooth. No sooner do Harry and Kitty announce their engagement than Harry begins to change. His disreputable behavior, unexplained absences, mysterious gatherings, questionable new companions, and sinister activities lead all to wonder: Who is the true Mr. Dashwood—the respectable gentleman Kitty thought she knew, or the dishonorable rogue now reflected in the mirror? A clue from Harry's family tree sends the Darcys once more on a quest to discover the truth before history can repeat itself. For if Harry and Kitty are to have a future, the past must first be put to rest.

Suspense and Sensibility is the second novel in the Mr. & Mrs. Darcy Mystery series, which features Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy from Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice as newlywed sleuths who become embroiled in intrigues surrounding their friends and family. Their courtship hasn't ended, and their adventures have just begun. If you liked Pride and Prescience, the first book of the series, you'll find this story double the fun as the Darcys encounter characters from Austen's Sense and Sensibility. (And if you're unfamiliar with Sense and Sensibility, fear not—you'll enjoy meeting the Dashwoods, Lucy Steele Ferrars, and others right along with the Darcys!)

Other books in the series:
Pride and Prescience (#1), North by Northanger (#3), The Matters at Mansfield (#4),
The Intrigue at Highbury
(#5), The Deception at Lyme (#6), The Suspicion at Sanditon (#7).


Praise for Suspense and Sensibility

"Jane Austen fans who regret the author wrote only six full-length novels have reason to rejoice: Bebris's second Mr. and Mrs. Darcy mystery is even better than her strong debut."
Publisher's Weekly starred review

"Somewhere in Regency heaven, Jane Austen blesses Carrie Bebris. Not only does Bebris perfectly render Austen's characters and the subtle tone of their relationships, she also captures, in exquisite detail, the Regency period. . . . The ingenious plot lives up to the rest of this delightful novel."
Romantic Times Book Club (Top Pick)

"No evil is a match for the witty and happily married Darcys."
Kirkus Reviews

"A page turner."
—Republic of Pemberley